My Vote Still Belongs To Ron Paul


“Mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable, than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed.” Thomas Jefferson

I will write in Ron Paul on my ballot this year.

Why? That’s a question I have been asked many, many times. “Why would you waste your vote? Why not vote for Gary Johnson? At least he’s on the ballot.”

I am aware of this. There are a couple of third-party candidates running. There are also two other people on the ballot, both affiliated with major parties and mountains on money.The average American voter is an uniformed voter. Many watch TV to learn about who is running, and most just follow party over preference. I do not believe that Mitt Romney has a chance to win, but I wouldn’t vote for him, even if he did.

I definitely will not vote Democrat. No worries there.

Will Gary Johnson win? Probably not. We have to face reality here, folks. I would like to see a third-party candidate get a good percentage of the vote, just to scare the neo-cons. Unfortunately, I don’t see a third-party presidency happening any time soon. I do believe that the two-party system is a broken thing that needs to be discarded. Will it happen in 2012? Not very likely.

“Your vote won’t count for anything, even if your state counts the ballots. So, why would you write in Ron Paul?”

It’s fairly simple. He is the only person in this country that I would trust to be my president.

He is the only person who has the virtue and the decency to hold that office, and he wouldn’t have had to cheat to do it.

He is a true leader, and would work for peace and prosperity.

Ron Paul is the only person that ran who is not in favor of intervention in foreign affairs. He was the only candidate who was not afraid to speak up against the reckless spending involved in not only foreign wars, but foreign aid as well. He was the only candidate who was truly concerned about the economy. He champions bringing back a system of sound money, not based on worthless sheets of paper or inflation, but backed by gold, which is steady in value. He would end the corrupt Federal Reserve, and work to make America stronger and fiscally responsible.

He would work to cut off government funding of Planned Parenthood, who are a corporation and thus should fund their own business, not use taxpayer money. He is against abortion, but not against personal liberty. He espouses the Libertarian ideals of Mill, while holding to conservative values.

I could give you many more reasons…a list that would take a very long time to read! So, let’s get to the ones that I feel are the most important:

He was the only candidate that did not pander. He did not just tell people what they wanted to hear; and sometimes people didn’t want to hear what he did say. The truth is not always welcome. However, if we don’t face reality soon, we are headed for economic disaster.

Ron Paul knows that, and he doesn’t want us to suffer for the stupidity of Washington. He predicted the crises that we face because he understands economics. He doesn’t try to soften the truth.

There is no Band-Aid big enough to cover up the wounds that America has suffered.

He was the only one willing to be honest with the American people. He woke people up and warned us about what will happen if we don’t take control of our finances and our freedoms. He truly cares about Americans; not stereotypes or party lines.

Write-in votes count in Iowa. They will not be thrown away at the end of the day. You may think that my vote is wasted. I don’t agree.

A protest vote sends a multitude of messages in a state that counts write-ins. My ballot will say more than, “Congressman Ron Paul.”

My vote will tell the establishment within my state party that I do not accept their nominee, nor do I consent to be governed by Mitt Romney.

It will tell the majority of the Iowa Republican Party that I am still on board with them and that I will continue to work for liberty at a state and local level. It will tell my precinct that I did not waver in my choice of candidate, that I have stuck by the person I stumped for at the caucus.

It will tell my children that I am a principled person, and that I didn’t jump ship when I perceived failure.

It will tell my husband, who is a veteran, that I don’t want to send our children into foreign wars with no declaration or purpose.

It tells me that I did not give up, because giving up is giving in.

I can tell myself that I am doing the right thing, not what someone else tells me to do. I own my vote. I have the freedom to make my own decisions.

I will not turn my back on liberty, and I will stand by Ron Paul.

“Have the courage to say no. Have the courage to face the truth. Do the right thing because it is right. These are the magic keys to living your life with integrity. “

W. Clement Stone

About angiedavidson75

mama,political activist, cat lover, free thinker
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to My Vote Still Belongs To Ron Paul

  1. Great job, Angie. I couldn’t agree more. If we expect true change, our actions must change.

    As long as Americans vote for the evil of two lessors, we will continue to have an evil government. I, too, will be writing in Ron Paul’s name for president, just as I did in 2008.

  2. James McPherson says:

    Unless you’re in a swing state, a third-party vote makes perfect sense to me: http://jmcpherson.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/since-your-ballot-wont-matter-why-not-vote-against-both-obama-and-romney/

  3. Ajai Dittmar says:

    I like your reasoning and understand why you’re voting the way you are. We all have our ways of coping with being cheated out of our win in Tampa.

    I have worked closely with the Ron Paul volunteers, from Cedar Rapids, and they have always advocated for Gary Johnson they have said the entire time that “if we couldn’t pull this off for Ron Paul” we would vote for Gary Johnson. We pulled it off in Iowa, and we did what we were supposed to do and we still got screwed! I LOVE Iowa and all of our delegates.

    My “punishment”/”message” to the party will not be writing Ron Paul in my punishment will be my absence at the Central Committee meetings until after the election. My punishment for them will be not making phone calls for him or social network for him. If Romney loses I will be there to help pick up the pieces if he wins who knows what I will do!

  4. Ajai Dittmar says:

    Reblogged this on Cedar Rapids Activist and commented:
    I will be voting for Gary Johnson but I support Angie in her decision!

  5. iamrising says:

    I hope you will further investigate Gary Johnson, he is recently evidencing full capability to champion the cause of liberty, just see his recent commentary:

    http://weirdcrap123.blogspot.com/2012/09/gary-johnsons-political-views-research.html

  6. Pingback: Write Ron Paul in | Pearltrees

  7. David Bierce says:

    Between you, me and 2 other people I know, Ron Paul will have at least 4 votes in Iowa 🙂

    • David Bierce says:

      To reply to myself…I might have to go with Johnson because of this.

      I’d prefer a Ron, but think its more probable the Liberty movement could rise from the ashes of State and Conventions nation wide moving the Republican party to the right path and have the Libertarian party get a good chunk of publicity and a little bit of influence to give both party at least a little nudge in the right direction.

      Either Ron Paul write-in or Gary Johnson seem equal to me with the 50 people I saw outside the Polk county elections office lined up to vote for Obama and the church parking lots filed with Romney/Ryan bumper stickers.

  8. Pingback: My Vote Still Belongs To Ron Paul | THE JEENYUS CORNER « The Jeenyus Corner

  9. brian says:

    You do own your vote..however its selfish for u to vote for someone who will definitely not win, no matter how much u or i want him to. It is a wasted vote, and will not make any difference, if all ron paul supporters voted for GJ then at least we could get rid of obama/romney…..think of your kids and dont waste your vote! Anyways…just my 2 cents…do what u want…honestly GJ has no chance anyway, but write ins arent allowed in Hawaii, so im voting for the canidate ON the ballot that is the closest to ron paul, and that is Gary Johnson. Ron paul wants the revolution to continue, with or without him, so maybe do your part by ending Republic/Democrats reign and get the libertarian in there!

    • Gary Johnson will not win either. Sad to say, but a third party win is not in the near future. I am working within my own party to change it. That’s not selfish…that’s creating positive change. We are unique here in Iowa in that we already have a head start…we control a good portion of the state GOP. We just need to make sure that we are working over the next four to put people in the right places at the local, state, and national levels.

  10. Mat says:

    I’m not sure how write in votes count here in Washington state, but that’s not the reason I’m going to vote for Gary Johnson. The republican party had it’s chance to back a real candidate “of the people” but they ignored us and shown us that it’s big money that has control of the party. There is no way the reps or the dems will allow RP to be president. I believe Garry Johnson is the next best “of the people” candidate we have to choose from. I’m not trying to say what you r doing is wrong !! I originally was going to do the same.

  11. Mike Freedom says:

    Look up Richard Gilbert on facebook and his lawsuit for write in for Ron Paul across all 50 states. Maine is one state who will count all write in for Ron Paul and the rest of the states will be sure to follow because it’s our Constitutional right to vote for whom ever we choose! Go Richard!

    • David Bierce says:

      The same Richard Gilbert that brought the suit on behalf of the delegates against the RNC for Civil Rights violations then totally ignored the Judges advice of how to make a winning argument, then getting the case dismissed….with prejudice? That Richard Gilbert? He might be completely and totally, out of the goodness of his heart going forth with these cases, but his track record is spotty at best for all cases. It would be better to get a better attorney if people would like to try and use the courts for the type of change needed rather than rely on Richard Gilbert, Esquire.

    • You need to look in my archives if you want information about Richard Gilbert. I wouldn’t trust the man to defend me for a parking ticket.

  12. Thank you Angie for staying on board with Iowa. I still would not count Gary Johnson or “Write in Congressman Ronald Earnest Paul” out just yet. Whatever happens, the ‘pretentious’ Republican nominee will NOT be president in 2012!

  13. Joe Reppert says:

    Angie,
    I totally respect you and your work. Especially on Gilbert. I know you’re for real also. One point I want to make…A write in could be easily tossed or flipped. This is why I think Gilbert (who I personally think was a Romney op.) is pushing a write in. I have a tech bg…A write in flipped would be totally undetectable. One with a bit of programming knowledge could write a program for the machines that would flip any write ins to Romney or Obama. Also a hardware remote hack is out there for about 60 bucks of hardware, that could be done with ZERO technical knowledge. Also in some states the voting will be counted by a foreign company. At least a vote flipped for Johnson would show anomalies on exit polls. Johnsons positions are similar to Ron Pauls. I’m Ron Paul all the way but he isn’t running anymore. That’s why I’m voting Johnson. Think about it. I respect whatever you decide, Keep up the good work.
    Joe

  14. Pingback: My Vote Still Belongs To Ron Paul « r3volution! News

  15. Thanks, Angie! Not only am I going to write in Ron Paul; I think I may just write the “F” word in front of Obama and Romney on the ballot.

    • Ha! I actually started a page with a friend on Facebook after the convention: No Justice, No Vote! Send your message to the RNC in any way that you choose…and remember, despite their crao and the fraud, we have truly already won, and it can only go up from here in our movement!

  16. Pingback: Nation Wide Write In Campaign for Ron Paul 2012 #Pennsylvania #LebanonPa #LebCo #RPF | Liberty Haus Star Noble

Leave a Reply

